Missouri is one of the strictest states in the US when it comes to drug laws. Unlike many states, Missouri has not legalized recreation and has only recently approved Article XIV which legalized medical marijuana. If a person is found with less than 35 grams of marijuana or synthetic cannabinoid, they can be charged with a class A misdemeanor. If found with less than 10 grams of marijuana or a synthetic cannabinoid, a class D misdemeanor is the offense.
Possession of a Controlled Substance Statute
Citation: MO Rev Stat § 579.015 (2016)
579.015. Possession or control of a controlled substance — penalty. —
1. A person commits the offense of possession of a controlled substance if he or she knowingly possesses a controlled substance, except as authorized by this chapter or chapter 195.
2. The offense of possession of any controlled substance except thirty-five grams or less of marijuana or any synthetic cannabinoid is a class D felony.
3. The offense of possession of more than ten grams but thirty-five grams or less of marijuana or any synthetic cannabinoid is a class A misdemeanor.
4. The offense of possession of not more than ten grams of marijuana or any synthetic cannabinoid is a class D misdemeanor. If the defendant has previously been found guilty of any offense of the laws related to controlled substances of this state, or of the United States, or any state, territory, or district, the offense is a class A misdemeanor. Prior findings of guilt shall be pleaded and proven in the same manner as required by section 558.021.
5. In any complaint, information, or indictment, and in any action or proceeding brought for the enforcement of any provision of this chapter or chapter 195, it shall not be necessary to include any exception, excuse, proviso, or exemption contained in this chapter or chapter 195, and the burden of proof of any such exception, excuse, proviso or exemption shall be upon the defendant.
Penalty of Conviction
A class A misdemeanor carries a penalty of up to 1 year in jail and a fine of no more than $2,000. A class D misdemeanor, on the other hand, can result in a fine of no more than $500.